Writing Tips From Sesame Street

For today’s blog entry I’d like to feature one of the greatest shows ever: Sesame Street.

We all have our days when we feel like we suck.

I had one of those yesterday (and the day before, and the day before that!). I’ve been spending a lot of time in my head trying to get a book written. There’s a long way to go.  As the book sits alone tucked away amidst the bits and bytes of my computer, I get no feedback. No one but my own critical eye to saying things like,”And you call your self an author?” “Can I suggest a new occupation?”

Last night I went to the Inspired Mic, a great little open mic gig in Flagler Beach and as I listened to all these talented folk, each with one or two books under their belt, I thought, “Shit. There are a bazillion authors out there, a lot of them pretty good. Whatever I produce will be just a droplet in a sea of literary pandemonium.

“What’s the point?” I think.

But just as I was in the midst of banging my head on the proverbial piano (watch that video, it’s really dead on),  my friends started coming up to me and complimenting me on the story that I read. I realized I don’t suck. I’ve got something good. I need to keep writing, in spite of the literary pandemonium.

I suppose my friends are sort of like Kermit the Frog. Like the troubled song writer in the end I realize that things aren’t so bad. Our Kermits can get us out of our funk and give us some good ideas.

So next time you’re working on a project and you feel like bashing your head on the keyboard, listen to the Kermits in your life, relax, and let them help you come up with a Jazzy new tune.

2 comments

  1. I have a couple of froggie friends beta reading my last manuscript right now. I really, truly thought the writing sucked, but I needed to turn off the internal editor. Their ideas and perspectives are making a real difference for me and helping me become the better writer I wanted to be. Kermit totally rocks!

Leave a Reply

