Another First Draft Finished…but it’s not The End

I am in the (second round) of beta reading for my book Open Souls. Thinking about all that beta reading entails, I find myself reffering to this blog post from friend of mine Tim Baker. If you’re an author, or asked to beta read for someone, I highly recommend reading this.

blindoggbooks

Yesterday, for the seventh time in five years, I typed an authors favorite two words…

the end

I’m speaking symbolically of course…I’ve never actually typed those words at the end of a novel. I don’t think I’ve ever even seen them in a book, but I did finish the first draft of my latest, as of yet untitled, novel.

The irony is that, now that the first draft is finished, it’s not the end at all…it’s really only the beginning.

There’s still a lot of work to do before it is ready for you. In the next few days I will distribute copies to my beta-readers and wait for their feedback.

Beta readers are the unsung heroes of the book-writing world, and I’m lucky to have some really good ones.

None of them worry about hurting my feelings and each of them has contributed something that has improved my work in the…

View original post 351 more words

Leave a Reply

